Got it

What are the difference between secure formatting and rapid formatting

Created: May 13, 2022 08:54:14Latest reply: May 15, 2022 03:27:31 169 2 0 0 0
  HiCoins as reward: 0 (problem unresolved)

Hello, everyone!

Do you the difference between secure formatting and rapid formatting?

Can you describe it simply?

  • x
  • convention:

Featured Answers
olive.zhao
Admin Created May 13, 2022 08:57:35

Hello, friend!

If a disk-intensive or ultra-high I/O ECS flavor is created and safeFormat is set to True, the disk will be formatted safely when you delete the ECS created using this flavor and release the disk. If safeFormat is set to False, the disk is formatted rapidly. This section describes the differences between secure formatting and rapid formatting, and how to estimate the time required for secure formatting.

Secure Formatting and Rapid Formatting

Table 1 Differences between secure formatting and rapid formatting

Category

Rapid Formatting

Safe Formatting

Whether to rewrite the disk sector

If no, delete only the files on the drive where the disk is located and do not rewrite the disk sector.

If yes, delete the files on the drive where the disk resides and rewrite the disk sector.

Data restoration

If only surface data is deleted, data can be restored using some methods. Therefore, the security is not high.

Data is permanently deleted and disks are detected. After the deletion, data is difficult to restore, ensuring high security.

Bad sectors

If a formatted disk has bad sectors, no message is displayed.

The disk is detected during disk formatting. If bad sectors exist on the disk, a message is displayed.

Duration

Relatively short

Relatively long

Therefore, you can select a formatting method based on the importance of the data stored on the disk. If the disk stores confidential data, you are advised to select the secure formatting when releasing the disk.

If you are more concerned about taking less time to release the disk, you can choose to format it quickly.

Hope this helps!

View more
  • x
  • convention:

All Answers
olive.zhao
olive.zhao Admin Created May 13, 2022 08:57:35

Hello, friend!

If a disk-intensive or ultra-high I/O ECS flavor is created and safeFormat is set to True, the disk will be formatted safely when you delete the ECS created using this flavor and release the disk. If safeFormat is set to False, the disk is formatted rapidly. This section describes the differences between secure formatting and rapid formatting, and how to estimate the time required for secure formatting.

Secure Formatting and Rapid Formatting

Table 1 Differences between secure formatting and rapid formatting

Category

Rapid Formatting

Safe Formatting

Whether to rewrite the disk sector

If no, delete only the files on the drive where the disk is located and do not rewrite the disk sector.

If yes, delete the files on the drive where the disk resides and rewrite the disk sector.

Data restoration

If only surface data is deleted, data can be restored using some methods. Therefore, the security is not high.

Data is permanently deleted and disks are detected. After the deletion, data is difficult to restore, ensuring high security.

Bad sectors

If a formatted disk has bad sectors, no message is displayed.

The disk is detected during disk formatting. If bad sectors exist on the disk, a message is displayed.

Duration

Relatively short

Relatively long

Therefore, you can select a formatting method based on the importance of the data stored on the disk. If the disk stores confidential data, you are advised to select the secure formatting when releasing the disk.

If you are more concerned about taking less time to release the disk, you can choose to format it quickly.

Hope this helps!

View more
  • x
  • convention:

Saqibaz
Saqibaz Created May 15, 2022 03:27:31

Good answer
View more
  • x
  • convention:

Comment

You need to log in to comment to the post Login | Register
Comment

Notice: To protect the legitimate rights and interests of you, the community, and third parties, do not release content that may bring legal risks to all parties, including but are not limited to the following:
  • Politically sensitive content
  • Content concerning pornography, gambling, and drug abuse
  • Content that may disclose or infringe upon others ' commercial secrets, intellectual properties, including trade marks, copyrights, and patents, and personal privacy
Do not share your account and password with others. All operations performed using your account will be regarded as your own actions and all consequences arising therefrom will be borne by you. For details, see " User Agreement."

My Followers

Login and enjoy all the member benefits

Login

Block
Are you sure to block this user?
Users on your blacklist cannot comment on your post,cannot mention you, cannot send you private messages.
Reminder
Please bind your phone number to obtain invitation bonus.
Information Protection Guide
Thanks for using Huawei Enterprise Support Community! We will help you learn how we collect, use, store and share your personal information and the rights you have in accordance with Privacy Policy and User Agreement.