Got it

How Do I Enable the Function of Clearing Snapshots Generated in the Current Backup?

Created: Mar 15, 2022 12:46:39Latest reply: Mar 25, 2022 15:22:52 286 4 1 0 0
  Rewarded HiCoins: 0 (problem resolved)

Hello, friend!

My storage capacity is limited. To avoid excessive snapshot backups, how do I enable the function of clearing snapshots generated during this backup?

Product: Huawei Cloud Stack 8.0.2.

Thanks in advance!

  • x
  • convention:

Featured Answers
olive.zhao
Admin Created Mar 15, 2022 12:56:17

Posted by xianxian at 2022-03-15 12:55 Olive, thanks for your reply!If I manually change a full backup to an incremental backup, will the s ...

Hello,

By default, the system disables the function of clearing the snapshots generated in this backup. After this function is enabled and the system automatically performs a backup based on the backup policy, if the system determines that the next backup type is full backup, the system deletes the snapshot generated during the current backup.

If you change the backup type to incremental backup or manually perform an incremental backup before the next full backup, the system generates a full backup copy because no snapshot is available.

Have a nice day!


View more
  • x
  • convention:

All Answers
olive.zhao
olive.zhao Admin Created Mar 15, 2022 12:53:45

Hello, xianxian!

Please check the following steps:

1. Use PuTTY to log in to the CSBS_Service1 or CSBS_Service2 node using the IP address corresponding to the CSBS_Service1 or CSBS_Service2 field.

The default account is djmanager. The default password is CloudService@123!.

2. Run the following command, and enable this function.

set_features --clean_cur_time_snap true

Enabling the Function of Clearing Backup Snapshots

To disable this function, run the set_features --clean_cur_time_snap false command.

3. Run the get_features command to check whether this function is enabled. If the value of Clean_cur_time_snap is true, this function is enabled

get_features

Hope this helps!

View more
  • x
  • convention:

xianxian
xianxian Created Mar 15, 2022 12:55:36

Olive, thanks for your reply!

If I manually change a full backup to an incremental backup, will the snapshot be deleted? If it's cleaned up, I don't have a full backup.


View more
  • x
  • convention:

olive.zhao
olive.zhao Admin Created Mar 15, 2022 12:56:17

Posted by xianxian at 2022-03-15 12:55 Olive, thanks for your reply!If I manually change a full backup to an incremental backup, will the s ...

Hello,

By default, the system disables the function of clearing the snapshots generated in this backup. After this function is enabled and the system automatically performs a backup based on the backup policy, if the system determines that the next backup type is full backup, the system deletes the snapshot generated during the current backup.

If you change the backup type to incremental backup or manually perform an incremental backup before the next full backup, the system generates a full backup copy because no snapshot is available.

Have a nice day!


View more
  • x
  • convention:

user_4358465
user_4358465 Created Mar 25, 2022 15:22:52

Great feedback olive. Very helpful indeed
View more
  • x
  • convention:

Comment

You need to log in to comment to the post Login | Register
Comment

Notice: To protect the legitimate rights and interests of you, the community, and third parties, do not release content that may bring legal risks to all parties, including but are not limited to the following:
  • Politically sensitive content
  • Content concerning pornography, gambling, and drug abuse
  • Content that may disclose or infringe upon others ' commercial secrets, intellectual properties, including trade marks, copyrights, and patents, and personal privacy
Do not share your account and password with others. All operations performed using your account will be regarded as your own actions and all consequences arising therefrom will be borne by you. For details, see " User Agreement."

My Followers

Login and enjoy all the member benefits

Login

Block
Are you sure to block this user?
Users on your blacklist cannot comment on your post,cannot mention you, cannot send you private messages.
Reminder
Please bind your phone number to obtain invitation bonus.
Information Protection Guide
Thanks for using Huawei Enterprise Support Community! We will help you learn how we collect, use, store and share your personal information and the rights you have in accordance with Privacy Policy and User Agreement.