How can I clear logs on a WLAN device

9

Logs generated on a WLAN device are saved in the log buffer. After the number of logs reaches the specified threshold, the logs are saved to the syslogfile or logfile folder in the device's flash memory.

When the WLAN device has been running for a long time, it generates a large number of logs. In this case, you can run the info-center max-logfile-number command to set the maximum number of logs to be saved on the device.

You can clear all logs in the buffer and the flash memory.

1. Clear logs in the log buffer or trap buffer.

- Run the reset logbuffer command in the user view to clear logs in the log buffer.

- Run the reset trapbuffer command in the user view to clear traps in the trap buffer.

2. Clear log files in the flash memory.

Run the delete command in the user view to delete log files in the flash memory. To delete logs in the logfile folder, perform the following operations:

- delete flash:/logfile/xxx //Delete a log record. xxx specifies the log file name saved in the flash memory.

- delete /unreserved flash:/logfile/xxx //Permanently delete a log record, which cannot be restored.

- reset recycle-bin //Empty the recycle bin.

Other related questions:
How can I clear alarms on a WLAN device
To clear alarms on a WLAN device, run the clear alarm active { all | sequence-number sequence-number } command in the alarm management view.

How can I view logs on a WLAN device
Logs generated on a WLAN device are saved in the log buffer. After the number of logs reaches the specified threshold, the logs are saved to the syslogfile or logfile folder in the device's flash memory. A device records user operations in logs, so you can also view the log file to check operations. To view the log buffer and log files on a WLAN device, perform the following operations: - To view the file logs in the logfile folder, run the following commands in the user view: cd logfile //Enter the root directory of the logfile folder. dir //Display all files in the root directory. Directory of flash:/logfile/ Idx Attr Size(Byte) Date Time(LMT) FileName 0 -ro- 861,301 Apr 15 2015 07:36:41 2015-04-15.07-36-36.dblg.zip 1 -ro- 883,298 Apr 27 2015 21:41:43 2015-04-27.21-41-38.dblg.zip 2 -ro- 1,071,688 Jun 11 2015 20:04:00 2015-06-11.20-03-54.dblg.zip 3 -ro- 826,422 Jun 24 2015 11:57:54 2015-06-24.11-57-49.log.zip 4 -ro- 630,868 Sep 12 2015 04:34:49 2015-09-12.04-34-45.log.zip 5 -rw- 1,392,179 Sep 14 2015 15:41:30 log.dblg 6 -rw- 5,108,562 Sep 14 2015 20:21:54 log.log The xx.dblg.zip file contains all archived logs, and you can open it after decompressing it. The log.dblg file can be displayed in the diagnostic view using the display diag-logfile command, and the log.log file can be displayed using the display logfile command. - To view detailed log information in a log file, run the display logfile logfile/xxxx command. xxxx specifies the log file name. - To view logs in the log buffer, run the display logbuffer command. - To view logs in the trap buffer, run the display trapbuffer command. For more information about logs, visit Huawei Enterprise Product & Service Support to download and view the Log Reference and Alarm Reference of the appropriate product.

How to clear the console password of a WLAN device
If the console password of an AC is forgotten, start up the device without entering the console password in BIOS mode, and then change the console password to clear it. The procedure is as follows: 1. Use a serial cable to connect and restart the device. When the message "Press CTRL+B to enter BIOS menu" is displayed, press Ctrl+B and enter the password (the default password is admin@huawei.com). The BIOS main menu is displayed. 2. Log in to the device without entering the console password. a. Enter the corresponding serial number for Clear password for console user in the BIOS menu to clear the console password. b. Enter the corresponding serial number for Boot with default mode in the BIOS menu to start the device in default mode. 3. After the system is started, authentication is not required for console login. Change the console password after login. a. In the console user view, run the authentication-mode password command to configure the console user authentication mode to password authentication. b. In the console user view, run the authentication password cipher command to set the console password. 4. To prevent the configurations from being lost after the system is restarted, run the save command to save the configurations. If the console password of an AP is forgotten, start up the AP without entering the console password in Uboot mode, and then change the console password to clear it. The procedure is as follows: 1. Use a serial cable to connect and restart the device. When the message "Press f or F to stop Auto-Boot ......" is displayed, press f and enter the password (the default password is admin@huawei.com). The Uboot view is displayed. 2. In the Uboot view, run the defaultuser command to clear the console password. 3. In the Uboot view, run the reset command to restart the device. 4. After the system is started, authentication is not required for console login. Change the console password after login. a. In the console user view, run the authentication-mode password command to configure the console user authentication mode to password authentication. b. In the console user view, run the authentication password cipher command to set the console password. 5. To prevent the configurations from being lost after the system is restarted, run the save command to save the configurations.

How can I clear MCU logs and alarms?
1. All ViewPoint 9000 series MCUs and ViewPoint 8000 series MCU with the version earlier than V100R008 support automatic alarm clearing. 2. For the ViewPoint 8000 series MCU in V100R008, certain alarms such as temperature alarms cannot be automatically cleared. In this case, you need to manually clear the alarms by running the diag clear-alarm command at the prompt as the administrator user. 3. You do not need to clear logs. When the number of logs reaches a certain capacity, new logs will automatically overwrite old logs. Currently, you cannot manually delete logs.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top