How can I check whether the configuration of an AR is lost after a restart

19

After an AR is restarted, you can log in to the AR through the console port and run the display current-configuration command to display the configuration that takes effect. If the configuration is the same as that saved on the AR, the configuration is not lost.
After the AR is powered on and started, you can also run the display saved-configuration command to display the configuration file to be used for the next startup. If the configuration is the same as that saved on the AR, the configuration is not lost.

Other related questions:
What should I do if the configuration is lost after a WLAN device is restarted
The loss of configuration after AC restart is generally caused by either of the following: the configuration file is not saved successfully, or the specified startup file is incorrect. Perform the following operations for different problems: Scenario 1: The configuration is not saved or fails to be saved. save The current configuration will be written to the device. Are you sure to continue?[Y/N]Y Info: Please input the file name(*.cfg,*.zip)[vrpcfg.zip]:Y If it is a new AC, the system will ask you to enter the file name (vrpcfg.zip by default, which can also be created with the file name extension .zip or .cfg) when you save the configuration for the first time. If you do not need to save the configuration to another file, press Enter directly. (You must press Enter or enter a new configuration file name. Otherwise, the configuration cannot be saved and the AC is unconfigured after restart.) If the system shows "Info: Save the configuration successfully.", the configuration file is successfully saved. You are advised to run the display saved-configuration command to verify that the configuration is properly saved. Scenario 2: The configuration file is not specified, or the configuration file specified for the next startup is different from the saved configuration file. a. Check the configuration file. dir /all b. Check the startup file. Check whether the name of the next startup saved-configuration file is the same as that of the saved configuration file. If the file name is null or is different from that of the saved configuration file, specify the configuration file for next startup again. display startup c. Specify the configuration file for the next startup startup saved-configuration vrpcfg.zip Scenario 3: WLAN service configurations on the AC are not delivered to Fit APs and therefore do not take effect. After WLAN services are configured on the AC, run the commit { all | ap ap-id } command in the WLAN view to deliver the configuration.

What should I do if the configuration of an S series switch is lost after restart
If the configuration of an S series switch (except the S1700) is lost after restart, the possible reasons are as follows: the configuration fails to be saved or the specified startup file is incorrect. Handle the problem as follows:
1. If the configuration fails to be saved, run the following command to save the configuration:
<HUAWEI> save
The current configuration will be written to the device. Are you sure to continue?[Y/N]Y
Info: Please input the file name(*.cfg,*.zip)[vrpcfg.zip]:Y
When the configuration of a new switch is saved for the first time, the system asks you to enter the name of the configuration file to which the configuration is to be saved, which is vrpcfg.zip by default or a created file with name extension .zip or .cfg. If the configuration does not need to be saved to other files separately, press Enter. (Press Enter or enter the new configuration file name. Otherwise, the configuration cannot be written to the configuration file and the switch still restarts with no configuration.)
If the message Info: Save the configuration successfully. is displayed, the configuration is saved successfully. You are advised to run the display saved-configuration command to verify that the configuration is successfully written to the configuration file.
2. If the configuration file for the next startup is not specified or the name of the specified file is different from that of the saved configuration file, perform the following operations:
a. Check the configuration file.
<HUAWEI> dir /all
b. Check whether the name of the configuration file for the next startup (represented by the Next startup saved-configuration file field) is the same as that of the saved configuration file. If the field is empty or specifies another file name, run a command to specify the saved configuration file for the next startup.
<HUAWEI> display startup
c. Specify the configuration for the next startup. startup saved-configuration vrpcfg.zip
3. If DHCP-related configurations are lost after DHCP is configured and saved on a new switch that is started for the first time, the possible cause is as follows:
If a switch starts without any configuration, the switch automatically starts the auto-config process. This process triggers the DHCP function for the switch to automatically obtain an IP address and the configuration file from a DHCP on the network. When DHCP is manually configured, the auto-config process is automatically disabled, so the DHCP function is also automatically disabled. Therefore, DHCP-related commands are lost after the DHCP configuration is saved.

Why is the DHCP configuration lost on an AR after a while
If Auto-Config is enabled, the AR will periodically clear all DHCP configurations, causing DHCP configuration loss. To solve the problem, perform the following steps: 1. Run the undo autoconfig enable command on the AR to disable Auto-Config. 2. Wait for 4 or 5 minutes and run the display autoconfig-status command to check the Auto-Config status. If the value of Running is NO, the Auto-Config function has been disabled. 3. Perform the configuration and run the save command.

How do I solve the DHCP configuration loss problem after device restart

After the device restarts, there is a low probability that the DHCP configuration is lost.

Auto-Config is enabled by default. About two and a half minutes after the device restarts, the Auto-Config module checks whether the configuration file exists and determine whether the Auto-Config process is executed. If the save command is used at this time, files conflict. As a result, the Auto-Config module determines that the configuration file does not exist, and incorrectly executes the Auto-Config process. In this case, information about option fields or intermediate file required for executing the Auto-Config process is not configured on the DHCP server. Consequently, the Auto-Config process is suspended, and the DHCP configuration (including the configuration during configuration recovery and the Auto-Config process) is deleted.

After the device restarts, run the undo autoconfig enable command in the system view to disable Auto-Config.


Will the configuration of an AR router be lost after the SRU is replaced
The configuration file of an AR router is stored in the storage medium of the SRU. For a single-control router, the configuration of a router is subject to the new SRU. For a dual-control router, the router automatically copies the configuration file to the standby SRU after the active SRU is switched over to the standby SRU.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top