Why the Configuration Is Displayed After the version 1 Command Is Used in the RIP View

25

Q: The default version of RIP is version 1. Why is there configuration information displayed after version 1 is configured in the rip view.

A: The default version of RIP is version 1. By default, version 1 is not configured. In this case, the protocol stack can receive version 1 and version 2 packets but can send only version 1 packets.
If version 1 is configured in the rip view, the protocol stack can receive and send only version 1 packets. The preceding describes differences of configured version 1 and default version 1. After version 1 is configured, the configuration information is displayed.

Other related questions:
Why are neighbors not displayed after RIP is configured
This is due to the IP Operating System (IPOS) implementation. Verify that the Routing Information Protocol (RIP) imported the route, and view the RIP neighbors again.

How can I go to the display view of the SC?
Run the display command to go to the display view of the SC. You can run other display commands to check various SC data only after going to the display view. For details, see HUAWEI SMC2.0 V500R002C00 SC Command Reference Guide.

Why level-1 users can run configuration-level commands on S series switches
Level-1 users can use only the commands at level 1 and level 0, but cannot use the level-2 (configuration-level) commands. You can use the following three methods to set the user level for users logging in through AAA local authentication. The user level set in the first method has the highest priority, and the user level set in the last method has the lowest priority. Run the local-user user-name privilege level level command in the AAA view to set the user level for the user named user-name. Run the admin-user privilege level level command in the service scheme view to set a user level for all users in a domain. Run the user privilege level level command in the user view to set a user level for all users logging in through the user view. By default, the users on the console port are at level 15 and the users on the VTY user interface are at level 0. Therefore, user level 1 set in the user view does not take effect because a higher user level has been set in the AAA or service scheme view.

Why can a user use commands higher than level 1 after the user level configured on the RADIUS server for the user is set to level 1
Run the display current-configuration command to check the configuration on the router and check whether the command line level has been changed by running the command-privilege level command.

Why can one switch view neighbor information but cannot the other switch view neighbor information after the two S series switches establish RIP neighbor relationship
Q: Why can one switch view neighbor information but cannot the other switch view neighbor information after the two switches establish RIP neighbor relationship? A: A switch enabled with RIP does not send the route of the interface directly connected to the neighbor. If both ends only have direct routes, only one switch can discover the neighbor. For example, before device A and device B establish RIP neighbor relationship, if device A sends the interface route to device B, device B will discover device A. Device B then does not advertise its interface route to device A. Consequently, device A cannot discover the neighbor device B. RIP does not stipulate that whether a switch needs to send the route of the interface directly connected to the neighbor to the neighbor. This issue occurs when Huawei's communications products establish RIP neighbor relationship.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top