Why an S series switch cannot be registered after the reboot member command is executed

11

When the reboot member command is executed on an S series switch (excluding the S1700), the specified member switch restarts. The configuration file specified for the current startup is deleted on the member switch; therefore, the configuration file is lost and the member switch cannot be registered. Exercise caution when you use the reboot member command.
V100R006C05, V200R002, and later versions do not support HGMP.

Other related questions:
Why are BGP connections reestablished after the peer connect-interface command is executed on S series switches
Currently, S series switches do not support BGP dynamic capability negotiation. Therefore, when capabilities of the BGP neighbor are changed, the BGP connection is automatically cut off and then the capabilities of the neighbor are renegotiated. If the peer connect-interface command is configured, the BGP session needs to be set up by designating the egress. Therefore, the source address of the TCP connection may be changed and the TCP connection needs to be re-established by using the new source address.

After the shutdown command is executed on an interface of an S series switch, an LSA sent by the switch still exists in the peer LSDB. Why
Question: Two devices are connected using a link. After the shutdown command is executed on an interface on one end of the link, an LSA sent by the interface still exists in the peer LSDB. Why? Answer: An LSA can be flooded only by the S series switch supporting OSPF that generates the LSA. When the peer switch has no reachable path to the local switch, new LSAs generated by the local switch will not be flooded to the peer. Therefore, the old LSA exists in the peer LSDB. It is not used in SPF calculation and ages with time.

For S series switches, why is the BGP connection not immediately closed after the shutdown command is executed on the interfaces connecting two peers
Q: Why is the BGP connection not cut off immediately after the shutdown command is executed on interfaces connecting two devices? A: When the EBGP peers are directly connected and the ebgp-interface-sensitive command is executed in the BGP view, the BGP peer connection is interrupted immediately after the interfaces connecting the two peers are shut down. By default, the ebgp-interface-sensitive command is executed in the BGP view. In other cases, the BGP peer relationship is not interrupted until the Hold timer times out.

Why are executed commands recorded in log files but cannot be displayed by the display logbuffer command
Information in the log buffer differs from information in log files because they use different channels of the information center. Log files record more information than the log buffer. The log buffer has a higher information level and records more important than log files. As logs have a lower information level, they are not saved in the log buffer. You can use the following command to set a lower level for the logs sent to the log buffer: [HUAWEI] info-center source SHELL channel logbuffer log level informationalRun some commands and use the display logbuffer command to check the logs in the log buffer. These commands will be displayed.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top