Why the command for default configuration is lost when a switch is upgraded to V100R006 and restarted after configuration file import

9

The cause is that the imported configuration file contains no version information. The system infers that the current V100R006 version is upgraded from a version earlier than V100R003. However, the default configuration is the same for the two versions. To adapt to the previous version, corresponding conversion is performed. The following is the processing mechanism for vlan 1:

For a version earlier than V100R003, the buildrun information is written on VLAN 1. If the port trunk allow-pass vlan 1 command is unavailable and eth-trunk is not configured for a port, the system infers that the port is not added to VLAN 1. Therefore, after the switch is upgraded to V100R006, add the undo port trunk allow-pass vlan 1 command to the port.

Other related questions:
Why is the DHCP configuration lost on an AR after a while
If Auto-Config is enabled, the AR will periodically clear all DHCP configurations, causing DHCP configuration loss. To solve the problem, perform the following steps: 1. Run the undo autoconfig enable command on the AR to disable Auto-Config. 2. Wait for 4 or 5 minutes and run the display autoconfig-status command to check the Auto-Config status. If the value of Running is NO, the Auto-Config function has been disabled. 3. Perform the configuration and run the save command.

What should I do if the configuration of an S series switch is lost after restart
If the configuration of an S series switch (except the S1700) is lost after restart, the possible reasons are as follows: the configuration fails to be saved or the specified startup file is incorrect. Handle the problem as follows:
1. If the configuration fails to be saved, run the following command to save the configuration:
<HUAWEI> save
The current configuration will be written to the device. Are you sure to continue?[Y/N]Y
Info: Please input the file name(*.cfg,*.zip)[vrpcfg.zip]:Y
When the configuration of a new switch is saved for the first time, the system asks you to enter the name of the configuration file to which the configuration is to be saved, which is vrpcfg.zip by default or a created file with name extension .zip or .cfg. If the configuration does not need to be saved to other files separately, press Enter. (Press Enter or enter the new configuration file name. Otherwise, the configuration cannot be written to the configuration file and the switch still restarts with no configuration.)
If the message Info: Save the configuration successfully. is displayed, the configuration is saved successfully. You are advised to run the display saved-configuration command to verify that the configuration is successfully written to the configuration file.
2. If the configuration file for the next startup is not specified or the name of the specified file is different from that of the saved configuration file, perform the following operations:
a. Check the configuration file.
<HUAWEI> dir /all
b. Check whether the name of the configuration file for the next startup (represented by the Next startup saved-configuration file field) is the same as that of the saved configuration file. If the field is empty or specifies another file name, run a command to specify the saved configuration file for the next startup.
<HUAWEI> display startup
c. Specify the configuration for the next startup. startup saved-configuration vrpcfg.zip
3. If DHCP-related configurations are lost after DHCP is configured and saved on a new switch that is started for the first time, the possible cause is as follows:
If a switch starts without any configuration, the switch automatically starts the auto-config process. This process triggers the DHCP function for the switch to automatically obtain an IP address and the configuration file from a DHCP on the network. When DHCP is manually configured, the auto-config process is automatically disabled, so the DHCP function is also automatically disabled. Therefore, DHCP-related commands are lost after the DHCP configuration is saved.

Device restart after the user-bind static command is executed
For S series switches excluding the S1700, in V100R006, running the user-bind static command on the S2700-SI or S3700-SI causes device restart. This issue is fixed in later versions. You can upgrade the switch to V200R001 or later version or install patch V100R006SPH022. To download the patch, click S2700 Downloads.

How can I check whether the configuration of an AR is lost after a restart
After an AR is restarted, you can log in to the AR through the console port and run the display current-configuration command to display the configuration that takes effect. If the configuration is the same as that saved on the AR, the configuration is not lost. After the AR is powered on and started, you can also run the display saved-configuration command to display the configuration file to be used for the next startup. If the configuration is the same as that saved on the AR, the configuration is not lost.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top