What should I do if files cannot be deleted from an S series switch

23

For S series switches (except S1700 switches), you can run the delete command in the user view to delete a file.
1. If the file fails to be deleted, check whether the file is a protected file, such as a configuration file, patch file, or system software package file that is in use. Protected files cannot be deleted. To delete a version file in use, delete it in the BootROM menu. After a version file is deleted, the switch cannot use this version file for startup. Exercise caution when deciding to delete a version file.
2. If the file is not a protected file and fails to be deleted, run the reset recycle-bin command in the user view to clear the recycle bin. If the recycle bin fails to be cleared, run the format command in the user view to format the storage medium.

Note that all files in the recycle bin will be cleared after the reset recycle-bin command is executed, and all files and directories in the storage medium will be cleared after the format command is executed. All these files and directories cannot be retrieved. Exercise caution when deciding to run these commands.

Other related questions:
Upgrading S series switch through BootROM
To upgrade S series switches (except S1700 switches) using the BootROM, perform as follows: 1. Prepare the software package to be uploaded, and start the FTP or TFTP software on the PC as an FTP or TFTP server. 2. Connect the PC to the switch through a console cable, and start the terminal software (such as SecureCRT or HyperTerminal). 3. Power off and restart the switch. When the message "Press Ctrl+B to enter BOOTROM menu..." is displayed, press Ctrl+B to enter the BootROM menu. (The default BootROM password of fixed switches is huawei in versions earlier than V100R006C03 and Admin@huawei.com in V100R006C03 and later. The default BootROM password of modular switches is 9300 in versions earlier than V100R006 and Admin@huawei.com in V100R006 and later.) 4. Enter the file system submenu to verify that sufficient space is available for storing the system software. 5. Enter the Ethernet submenu to set FTP or TFTP parameters as prompted and download the system software package for the upgrade from the FTP server. 6. Enter the startup submenu to specify the newly uploaded system software package as the software for next startup. 7. Restart the switch.

Deleting the configuration file from an S series switch
When an S series switch (except the S1700) is in running state, the configuration file in the flash memory or CF card is protected as a system file and cannot be deleted using the delete command. You can use one of the following methods to delete the configuration file: 1. For an S series switch running V100R003 or a later version, run the following commands to delete the configuration file: system-view [HUAWEI] undo startup saved-configuration //Delete the startup configuration file of the switch from the storage device. [HUAWEI] quit delete //Delete the configuration file. 2. For an S series switch running V100R005 or a later version, or an E series switch, run the following commands to delete the configuration file: reset saved-configuration //Delete the startup configuration file of the switch from the storage device. delete //Delete the configuration file. 3. Delete the configuration file in the BootROM menu. a. Run the reboot command. After the switch restarts, press Ctrl+E (only supported by E series switches and some S series switches) or Ctrl+B to enter the BootROM menu. Enter the default password. b. Press Ctrl+Z to enter the hidden menu and choose Delete file from Flash to delete the configuration file from the flash memory. c. Select 6. Reboot to restart the switch. Note: After the configuration file of a switch in use is deleted, the switch configuration is lost if you do no run the save command to save the configuration file before restarting the switch. Exercise caution when deleting the configuration file.

What can I do if I cannot delete cameras?
The possible causes are as follows: 1. The network between the NVR and the IVS platform is abnormal. 2. The SCU module is abnormal. For detailed solutions, see the VCN3000 Maintenance Handbook: VCN3000 Maintenance Handbook

Which files can be deleted from an S series switch
For S series switches (except S1700 switches), configuration files, patch files, and system software package files that are in use cannot be deleted: To delete a version file in use, delete it in the BootROM menu. After a version file is deleted, the switch cannot use this version file for startup. Exercise caution when deciding to delete a version file.

Why local users cannot be deleted from S series switches
If you cannot delete a local user from an S series switch (except the S1700 switch) using the undo local-user user-name command, run the display access-user command in any view to check whether the user is online. If the user is online, run the cut access-user command in the AAA view to disconnect the user first.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top