Deleting the configuration file from an S series switch

20

When an S series switch (except the S1700) is in running state, the configuration file in the flash memory or CF card is protected as a system file and cannot be deleted using the delete command. You can use one of the following methods to delete the configuration file:

1. For an S series switch running V100R003 or a later version, run the following commands to delete the configuration file:
system-view
[HUAWEI] undo startup saved-configuration //Delete the startup configuration file of the switch from the storage device.
[HUAWEI] quit
delete //Delete the configuration file.

2. For an S series switch running V100R005 or a later version, or an E series switch, run the following commands to delete the configuration file:
reset saved-configuration //Delete the startup configuration file of the switch from the storage device.
delete //Delete the configuration file.

3. Delete the configuration file in the BootROM menu.
a. Run the reboot command. After the switch restarts, press Ctrl+E (only supported by E series switches and some S series switches) or Ctrl+B to enter the BootROM menu. Enter the default password.
b. Press Ctrl+Z to enter the hidden menu and choose Delete file from Flash to delete the configuration file from the flash memory.
c. Select 6. Reboot to restart the switch.
Note: After the configuration file of a switch in use is deleted, the switch configuration is lost if you do no run the save command to save the configuration file before restarting the switch. Exercise caution when deleting the configuration file.

Other related questions:
Which files can be deleted from an S series switch
For S series switches (except S1700 switches), configuration files, patch files, and system software package files that are in use cannot be deleted: To delete a version file in use, delete it in the BootROM menu. After a version file is deleted, the switch cannot use this version file for startup. Exercise caution when deciding to delete a version file.

Deleting the mirroring configuration from an S series switch
For S series switches (except S1700 switches), if you want to delete the mirroring configuration, perform the following operations: 1. Run the display current-configuration command to check the current mirroring configuration. For example, you can view the following mirroring configuration. [HUAWEI] display current-configuration # vlan batch 10 20 30 # observe-port 2 interface GigabitEthernet1/0/1 # interface Ethernet0/0/0 ip address 192.168.150.3 255.255.255.0 # interface GigabitEthernet1/0/1 # interface GigabitEthernet1/0/2 ...... # interface GigabitEthernet2/0/1 port-mirroring to observe-port 2 inbound # ...... 2. Run the undo port-mirroring command in the view of the mirrored port to delete the binding between the observing port and mirrored port, and restore the mirrored port to a common port. For example, restore GE2/0/1 in step 1 to a common port. [HUAWEI] interface gigabitethernet 2/0/1 [HUAWEI-GigabitEthernet2/0/1] undo port-mirroring to observe-port 2 inbound [HUAWEI-GigabitEthernet2/0/1] quit 3. Run the undo observe-port command in the system view to delete an observing port. For example, delete the observing port in step 1 and restore GE1/0/1 to a common port. [HUAWEI] undo observe-port 2You can delete the observing port only after deleting the binding between the observing port and mirrored port.

Upgrading S series switch through BootROM
To upgrade S series switches (except S1700 switches) using the BootROM, perform as follows: 1. Prepare the software package to be uploaded, and start the FTP or TFTP software on the PC as an FTP or TFTP server. 2. Connect the PC to the switch through a console cable, and start the terminal software (such as SecureCRT or HyperTerminal). 3. Power off and restart the switch. When the message "Press Ctrl+B to enter BOOTROM menu..." is displayed, press Ctrl+B to enter the BootROM menu. (The default BootROM password of fixed switches is huawei in versions earlier than V100R006C03 and Admin@huawei.com in V100R006C03 and later. The default BootROM password of modular switches is 9300 in versions earlier than V100R006 and Admin@huawei.com in V100R006 and later.) 4. Enter the file system submenu to verify that sufficient space is available for storing the system software. 5. Enter the Ethernet submenu to set FTP or TFTP parameters as prompted and download the system software package for the upgrade from the FTP server. 6. Enter the startup submenu to specify the newly uploaded system software package as the software for next startup. 7. Restart the switch.

How to clear the recycle bin of an S series switch
For S series switches (except S1700 switches), run the following command to clear the recycle bin:
<HUAWEI> reset recycle-bin
Note: The delete XXX command in the user view only moves files to the recycle bin, but does not release the storage space. You can run the dir/all command to view information about all files, including deleted files in the recycle bin marked in brackets ([ ]). These files can be restored using the undelete command. To permanently delete these files from the recycle bin, run the reset recycle-bin command. The files that are deleted using the delete command without the /unreserved parameter are saved in the recycle bin.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top