Does an S series switch have a Reset button to restore factory settings

22

Only the S1700 web-managed switches and S1720 switches have the Reset button to restore factory settings.

Other related questions:
Restore factory settings of the S1700
Restore factory settings of the S1700 using either of the following methods: 1. Hold down the Reset button. When you hold down the Reset button for more than 5s, the switch restarts and restores the factory settings. (If you forget the changed management IP address or password of a switch, you can hold down the Reset button to restore factory settings of the switch.) 2. Restore the factory settings through the web. a. Choose System Management > Reset Factory. b. Click Reset Factory. c. Click Apply.

Functions of the MODE button on S series switches
The MODE button on S series switches (except the S1700) has the following functions: - For versions earlier than V200R006C10, you can change the indicator to stack mode and show the stack ID. - For V200R006C10 and later versions, you can hold down the MODE button for 6 seconds to start the web initial login mode.

Functions of the RESET button on S series switches
The RESET button on the MPU of a modular switch is used to reset cards. The RESET button on a fixed switch resets the switch or restores factory settings.

Restore the factory settings of S series switches after a stack splits
To restore the factory settings of an S series switch (except the S1700) that has not joined any cluster or stack, run the reset saved-configuration and reboot fast commands, and select N when the system asks you whether to save configurations. After a switch joins a stack, the stack configurations, including the stack ID, Stack priority, and stack port configuration, are not saved in the configuration file and cannot be deleted by the preceding operations. In this case, to restore the factory settings of a switch, disable all the stack configurations, then run the reset saved-configuration and reboot fast commands, and select N when the system asks you whether to save the configurations.

Restore factory settings
You can run the reset saved-configuration command in the user view to delete the configuration file for the next startup, so that the switch restarts with the default factory settings. # Delete the configuration file for the next startup. reset saved-configuration The action will delete the saved configuration on the device. The configuration will be erased to reconfigure.Continue? [Y/N]: y Warning: Now clearing the configuration in the device. Info: Succeeded in clearing the configuration in the device. reboot slot 1: Next startup system software: flash:/basicsoftware.cc Next startup saved-configuration file: NULL Next startup paf file: default Next startup patch package: NULL Warning: The current configuration will be saved to the next startup saved-confi guration file. Continue? [Y/N]: n Warning: The system will reboot. Continue? [Y/N]: y

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top