Why are passwords set by PPP local users displayed as unidentifiable characters

2

It is normal that passwords in cipher encryption mode are displayed as unidentifiable characters.

Other related questions:
Why are the passwords set by local PPP users displayed as garbled characters
It is normal that the password is displayed as garbled characters because it is encrypted in the cipher method.

Change local user passwords on S series switch
On an S series switch, except S1700, there are two methods to change the local user password:
- The administrator can change passwords for other local users.
  A local user can change the attributes (including password, level, max access number, and validity period) for the local users with lower levels.
  For example, to change the password of local user admin to huawei@123.
  [HUAWEI] aaa
  [HUAWEI-aaa] local-user admin password cipher huawei@123
- The local user changes its own password.
  To ensure password security, a low-level administrator can run the local-user change-password command after passing authentication to change its own password.  
  <HUAWEI> local-user change-password
  Please configure the login password (8-128)
  It is recommended that the password consist of at least 2 types of 
  characters, including lowercase letters, uppercase letters, numerals
  and special characters. 
  Please enter old password: //Enter the old password.
  Please enter new password: //Enter the new password.
  Please confirm new password:  //Confirm the new password.
Note:
- Only the users passing local authentication can change their own passwords.
- The local-user change-password command only changes local user passwords, but does not save configurations. The passwords are saved as local-user password.If you do not enter the old, new, or confirm password within the timeout interval (30 seconds), the password change operation is canceled. You can also press Ctrl+C to cancel the password change operation.

Why cannot local users be deleted
The online local users cannot be deleted using the undo local-user command. Before deleting a user, run the display access-user command in any view to check whether the user is online. If a user that you wants to delete is online, run the cut access-user command in the AAA view to disconnect the user first.

Login password cannot be displayed
To protect user information, the system does not display the password that a user enters upon login, if the user configures password authentication or AAA authentication for login.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top