Number of failed disks allowed by RAID 2.0+


The number of failed disks allowed by RAID 2.0+ depends on the RAID level.
RAID 3 and RAID 5 only allow one disk to fail.
RAID 6 and RAID 50 only allow two disks to fail.
RAID 10 only allows N disks to fail (RAID 10 is composed of 2 x N disks).

Other related questions:
V3 series storage capacity planning
For details about how to plan the capacity of V3 series storage, see Planning the Capacity of V3 Series Storage.

Introduction to RAID 2.0+ RAID 2.0+ is a brand-new RAID technology that implements two-layer virtualized management instead of the traditional fixed management. Based on underlying disk management that employs block virtualization (Virtual for Disk), RAID 2.0+ uses Smart-series efficiency improvement software to implement efficient resource management that features upper-layer virtualization (Virtual for Pool). For details, see RAID2.0+ Multimedia.

Versions that support RAID 2.0+
The following Huawei storage products support RAID 2.0+ technology: T V2, 18000, and V3 series

Whether OceanStor 9000 reconstructs data using RAID 2.0-like methods after a disk fails
If a disk fails, OceanStor 9000 reconstructs data using RAID 2.0+ or similar methods.

Minimum number of disks required by each RAID
RAID 0 requires at least one disk, RAID 1 at least two disks, RAID 3 at least three disks, RAID 5 at least three disks, RAID 6 at least four disks, RAID 10 at least four disks, and RAID 50 at least six disks.

If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat
Scroll to top