What are the ESS, BSS, and SSID

SSID: service set identifier.

ESS: extended service set, a group of all SATs in the same logical management domain. An ESS may contain multiple BSSs.

BSS: basic service set, an area covered by an AP. Each BSS is identified by a BSSID. The simplest WLAN contains only one BSS, and all STAs are in the BSS. To enable the STAs to communicate, disable STA isolation.

Other related questions:
WLAN-ESS and WLAN-BSS interface
If you have more questions, you can seek help from following ways:
To iKnow To Live Chat To Google
Scroll to top