Why does the available space on a storage medium not change after a file is deleted



If you specify the /unreserved parameter when running the delete [ /unreserved ] [ /force ] { filename | devicename } command to delete a specified file on a storage medium, the file is deleted permanently and cannot be restored.


If you do not specify the /unreserved parameter when running the delete [ /unreserved ] [ /force ] { filename | devicename } command to delete a specified file on a storage medium, the file is moved to the recycle bin and is not deleted permanently. The file still occupies storage space on the storage medium.


You can run the dir /all command to view information about all files, including deleted files marked with square brackets ([ ]). To restore deleted files, run the undelete { filename | devicename } command.


To remove a file from the recycle bin to release the occupied storage space, run the reset recycle-bin [ filename | devicename ] command.

Scroll to top