What should I do if the configuration of an S series switch is lost after restart

If the configuration of an S series switch (except the S1700) is lost after restart, the possible reasons are as follows: the configuration fails to be saved or the specified startup file is incorrect. Handle the problem as follows:
1. If the configuration fails to be saved, run the following command to save the configuration:
<HUAWEI> save
The current configuration will be written to the device. Are you sure to continue?[Y/N]Y
Info: Please input the file name(*.cfg,*.zip)[vrpcfg.zip]:Y
When the configuration of a new switch is saved for the first time, the system asks you to enter the name of the configuration file to which the configuration is to be saved, which is vrpcfg.zip by default or a created file with name extension .zip or .cfg. If the configuration does not need to be saved to other files separately, press Enter. (Press Enter or enter the new configuration file name. Otherwise, the configuration cannot be written to the configuration file and the switch still restarts with no configuration.)
If the message Info: Save the configuration successfully. is displayed, the configuration is saved successfully. You are advised to run the display saved-configuration command to verify that the configuration is successfully written to the configuration file.
2. If the configuration file for the next startup is not specified or the name of the specified file is different from that of the saved configuration file, perform the following operations:
a. Check the configuration file.
<HUAWEI> dir /all
b. Check whether the name of the configuration file for the next startup (represented by the Next startup saved-configuration file field) is the same as that of the saved configuration file. If the field is empty or specifies another file name, run a command to specify the saved configuration file for the next startup.
<HUAWEI> display startup
c. Specify the configuration for the next startup. startup saved-configuration vrpcfg.zip
3. If DHCP-related configurations are lost after DHCP is configured and saved on a new switch that is started for the first time, the possible cause is as follows:
If a switch starts without any configuration, the switch automatically starts the auto-config process. This process triggers the DHCP function for the switch to automatically obtain an IP address and the configuration file from a DHCP on the network. When DHCP is manually configured, the auto-config process is automatically disabled, so the DHCP function is also automatically disabled. Therefore, DHCP-related commands are lost after the DHCP configuration is saved.

Scroll to top