Method used to clear the configuration (restoring the factory settings) on the USG2000, USG5000, and USG6000.

The method used to clear the configuration *restoring the factory settings) on USG firewalls is as follows:
1. Hardware methods:
Press and hold the RESET button on the device to boot based on the default configuration.
Note:
It is recommended that you press and hold the RESET button to restore to the default factory settings before the system is powered on. Note the following:
You must press the RESET button for more than 10s.
Release the RESET button before the system prompts to press Ctrl+B.
You can restore the default configuration as follows:
If the device is not powered on, press the RESET button and then power on the device. When six indicators on the panel blink at a frequency of about 2 Hz, release the RESET button. The device will boot using the default configuration.
If the device is powered on, press and hold the RESET button and then release it in 10s. When you press Ctrl+B, six indicators on the panel blink at a frequency of about 2 Hz, indicating that the device successfully restores to the factory settings.
Note:
Before powering on the device, press and hold the RESET button. If the indicators blink immediately after you release the button, the button is successfully activated. You must release the RESET button in 10s after the device is powered on. Indicators blink only when the system prompts to press Ctrl+B instead of immediately blinking after the button is released. Do not press the RESET button for multiple times during the system boot. Otherwise, the system fails to restore the default configuration.
After the system prompts to press Ctrl+B, if you press the RESET button during system boot or running, the system is not restarted and does not restore to default factory settings. It is recommended that you save the current configuration before pressing the RESET button.
2. Web UI:
For the USG2000 and USG5000, on the web UI, choose System > Maintenance > Configuration Management, and click Restore Factory Configuration.
For the USG6000, on the Web UI, choose System > Profile Management, and click Restore Factory Configuration.
3. CLI:
reset saved-configuration (Clear the saved configuration.)
10:25:15 2015/03/13
The action will delete the saved configuration in the device.
The configuration will be erased to reconfigure. Are you sure?[Y/N]y (The configuration will be cleared. Confirm? Press Y.)
Now clearing the configuration in the device.
2015-03-13 10:25:19 FW %%01CFM/4/RST_CFG(l): When deciding whether to reset the saved configuration, the user presses Y.
Info:Clear the configuration in the device successfully (Successfully cleared)
reboot (Restart the device.)
10:25:31 2015/03/13
System will reboot, could you want to save current configuration [Y/N]?n (The system will restart. Save the current configuration? Press N. If you press Y, the original configuration is saved again and the configuration is not cleared.)
System will reboot! Continue?[Y/N]:y (The device will restart. Press Y.)
After the device is restarted, the configuration is cleared.

Scroll to top